Florida Avenue Baptist Church

623 Florida Ave., NW

Washington, DC 20001

Tel:| (202) 667-3409  Fax:| (202) 483-4009

CHURCH VISION

Florida Avenue Baptist Church is a vibrant, vital, joyful, and challenging congregation making a difference in the lives of people, the community and the world. 

CHURCH MISSION

As a mixed multitude of people called by God to become disciples of Jesus the Christ, Lord and Savior, it is the purpose of this church, under the guidance of the Holy Spirit, to be a community growing in faith where the Word of God is lived everyday.

SUBSCRIBE FOR EMAILS
  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon

© 2020  Florida Avenue Baptist Church

General Activities To Do At Home

Scholastic Education https://scholastic.com

Brain Pop https://www.brainpop.com/

Ted Ed https://ed.ted.com/

Oliver Jeffers https://www.oliverjeffers.com/books

Khan Academy https://www.khanacademy.org/


VISIT THE SMITHSONIAN https://www.si.edu/kids

National Air and Space Museum https://airandspace.si.edu/

National Museum of Natural History https://naturalhistory.si.edu

National Museum of American History https://americanhistory.si.edu/

Take Virtual Tours on the Smithsonian

National Museum of Natural History https://naturalhistory.si.edu/visit/virtual-tour


Listen to audiobooks and podcasts

The streaming audio service Pinna is offering families and teachers two free months of access to their audio streaming service for kids ages 3-12. To activate, go to Pinna and use the promo code: PINNA4KIDS.


Local Libraries have free online resources. If you have a library card go online and download and listen to audio books, watch videos or read some books.


ACTIVITY SHEETS

Jarrett Lerner https://jarrettlerner.com/activities/

Elise Grave http://elisegravel.com/en/


GET PHYSICAL

Mark Kanemura, a former backup dancer with Lady Gaga and contestant on "So You Think You Can Dance," is offering virtual dance parties on Instagram.

Cosmic Kids Yoga has free yoga resources for young children. And Go Noodle features short videos to get kids moving.



BE CREATIVE

This whole exercise is going to require loads of creativity for any parent, especially those working while homeschooling.


Keri Smith, author of the "Wreck This Journal" books, is creating daily exploration prompts at her website.


Illustrator Carson Ellis is providing illustration prompts on Instagram.


Author Kate DiCamillo is providing weekly writing prompts on YouTube. Bonus: Writing time for kids is quiet time for parents.


Author and illustrator Dan Santat is giving kids a chance to earn "badges" during the pandemic, with extra points for leaving parents alone to work.


Americas Test Kitchen Kids is offering free recipes, activities and experiments for kids during the coronavirus crisis.


Sign up for the PBS Kids newsletter for more activities to try with kids.

National Geographic Kids also has quizzes, puzzles and games.

Quizletprovides free learning games and tools.

Art Talk For Kids https://www.artsy.net/article/artsy-editorial-talk-kids-art


GET SCIENTIFIC

25 EASY Science Experiments You Can Do at Home!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6YD2Pw9R7jY


Make Slim https://youtu.be/1g7DkgawdNo

https://youtu.be/ZP7kcMJZY5c

https://youtu.be/4ZdsaqaCzbU

https://youtu.be/mtflkj3VIjM


Bill Nuy The Science Guy https://www.billnye.com/home-demos