top of page

Read the dissents in the Supreme Court ruling against affirmative action

Updated: Jul 6

Three justices — Sonia Sotomayor, Elena Kagan and Ketanji Brown Jackson — dissented in the Supreme Court’s decision against affirmative action Thursday.

Sotomayor and Jackson each wrote dissents against the court’s ruling that Harvard and the University of North Carolina discriminated against white and Asian American applicants by using race-conscious admissions policies that benefited applicants from underrepresented backgrounds. Kagan signed both dissents.

Jackson recused herself from the Harvard case because she served for years on one of Harvard’s governing boards, but she participated in the North Carolina case.

Read Sotomayor’s dissent here and Jackson’s dissent here.


Recent Posts

See All

Amid all the feverish reaction to the Oscar nominations announced Monday, Dove will be thrilled to see a project it sponsored making the list of nominees. "Hair Love," created by Matthew A. Cherry,

bottom of page